Maria Ivanova Appointed to UN Science Advisory Board
October 10, 2013  //  By:   //  Blog Post, Featured  //  No Comment

UN Secretary General Ban Ki-moon has announced the creation of a new UN Scientific Advisory Board at the inaugural meeting of the High-level Political Forum on Sustainable Development, and the Center for Governance and Sustainability is proud to announce that our own Co-Director, Professor Maria Ivanova, has been appointed as an expert to that panel.

“We must strengthen the interface between science and policy,” said the Secretary-General in his remarks to the High-level Forum, “so that the latest scientific findings are reflected in our high-level policy discussions.” Ban Ki-Moon’s speech regarding the board can be viewed here. To this end, the Board’s core function will be to provide advice on science, technology and innovation for sustainable development to the UN Secretary-General and to executive heads of UN agencies. It will offer advice and recommendations on priorities related to science for sustainable development that should be supported or encouraged by the UN system, on issues related to the public visibility and understanding of science, and on democratic global governance focused on sustainability.

Professor Ivanova joins the new 26-member panel as an internationally recognized expert on global environmental governance. The Board comprises members from 25 different countries representing various fields of the natural, social, and human sciences. Experts are appointed to a two-year term, with a possibility for an additional two-year extension. Under the leadership of Director-General Irina Bokova, the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) will host the Board’s secretariat.

For more information, click here.

Below is the full list of Board members:

Ms Tanya Abrahamse (South Africa), CEO, South African National Biodiversity Institute

Ms Susan Avery (United States of America), President and Director, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution

Sir Hilary McDonald Beckles (Barbados), Pro-Vice Chancellor and Principal, University of the West Indies

Ms Joji Cariño (Philippines), Director, Forest Peoples Programme

Ms Rosie Cooney (Australia), Visiting Fellow, University of Sciences, Sydney

Mr Abdallah Daar (Oman), Professor of Public Health, University of Toronto, Canada

Mr Gebisa Ejeta (Ethiopia), Professor of Agronomy, Purdue University, United States

Mr Vladimir Fortov (Russian Federation), President of the Russian Academy of Sciences

Ms Fabiola Gianotti (Italy), Senior Researcher and Coordinator of ATLAS Experiment, CERN, Geneva, Switzerland

Mr Ke Gong (China), President of Nankai University

Mr Jörg Hinrich Hacker (Germany), President, German National Academy of Sciences – Leopoldina

Ms Maria Ivanova (Bulgaria), Professor of Global Governance, University of Massachusetts Boston, United States

Ms Eugenia Kalnay (Argentina), Professor of Atmospheric and Ocean Sciences, University of Maryland, Unites States

Ms Reiko Kuroda (Japon), Professor, Department of Life Sciences, Tokyo University of Science

Ms Eva Kondorosi (Hungary), Research Professor, Biological Research Centre, Academy of Sciences of Hungary

Mr Dong-Pil Min (Republic of Korea), Emeritus Professor, Seoul National University

Mr Carlos Nobre (Brazil), Senior Climate Scientist, National Secretary for R&D Policies

Mr Rajendra Kumar Pachauri (India), Director-General, The Energy and Resources Institute (TERI); Chair, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change – Nobel Laureate for Peace

Mr Shankar Sastry (United States of America), Dean, College of Engineering, University of California, Berkeley

Ms Hayat Sindi (Saudi Arabia), Founder and CEO, Institute of Imagination and Ingenuity (i2institute)

Mr Wole Soboyejo (Nigeria), President, African University of Science and Technology (AUST), Garki

Ms Laurence Tubiana (France), Director, Institute of Sustainable Development and International Relations (IDDRI), Paris

Ms Judi Wakhungu (Kenya), Professor of Energy Resources Management, First Cabinet Secretary, Ministry for Environment, Water and Natural Resources

Ms Ada Yonath (Israel), Director, Helen and  Milton A. Kimmelman Centre for Biomolecular Structure and Assembly, Weizmann Institute of Sciences; Nobel Laureate in Chemistry

Mr Abdul Hamid Zakri (Malaysia), Science Advisor to the Prime Minister of Malaysia; Chair, Intergovernmental Platform on Biodiversity and Ecosystem Services (IPBES)

Mr Ahmed Zewail (Egypt), Director, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, United States; Nobel Laureate in Chemistry

About the Author :

Daniel Zaleznik is a Research Associate for the Center for Governance and Sustainability, and a Masters student in International Relations at the University of Massachusetts Boston. He graduated in 2008 from Vanderbilt University with his B.A. in Philosophy.

Leave a reply