UNEP Awards 2010 Champions of the Earth Laureates
April 23, 2010  //  By:   //  Blog Post, Event  //  No Comment

On Earth Day, April 22, UNEP announced the laureates of its Champions of the Earth award. Established in 2004, the annual Champions of the Earth award recognizes  outstanding environmental leaders with contributions to a new way of thinking promoting a transition to a sustainable society. In 2009, the award was revamped to acknowledge the individuals and organizations that exemplified leadership, vision, inspiration, and action for the environment. This year’s winners are as follows: the President of Guyana and passionate forestry and ecosystem infrastructure proponent, His Excellency Bharrat Jagdeo; the President of the Maldives and international climate change campaigner, His Excellency Mohamed Nasheed; Afghanistan’s Director General of the National Environmental Protection Agency and avid sustainability advocate, Prince Mostapha Zaher; Japanese earth scientist and pioneer of research into how the oceans cycle carbon, Dr. Taro Takahashi; Chinese actress and popular green life-style guru, Ms. Zhou Xun; American venture capitalist, green energy entrepreneur and co-founder of Sun Microsystems, Mr. Vinod Khosla. Read more about the Champions of the Earth award, here. View videos of the Champions of the Earth Laureates, here.

About the Author :

Maria Ivanova is the Director of the Global Environmental Governance Project and Associate Professor at the McCormack Graduate School of Policy and Global Studies at the University of Massachusetts in Boston.

Leave a reply